Passion

When I created this blog, I contemplated for hours about what my core subject should be. Religion? Food? Sociology? I just couldn’t decide. I googled to try to spark some inspiration and one prompt caught my attention.

WHAT ARE YOU PASSIONATE ABOUT?

What am I passionate about? I sat there both thoughtless and emotionless as I realized I couldn’t form a clear answer. What am I passionate about? I repeated it, as if the fourth or fifth time would provoke a new thought. It’s not that I don’t love anything, it’s that I love everything. I have a deep affection for children, social justice, writing, music, traveling, coffee, and my faith. I enjoy playing sports and watching movies or just having a deep conversation with another soul. But what am I passionate about?

I googled again. What really is passion?

NOUN: STRONG AND BARELY CONTROLLABLE EMOTION

SYNONYMS: AFFECTION, DEDICATION, INTENSITY, SPIRIT

Then it hit me. Another form of passion is Passion.

 NOUN: THE SUFFERING AND DEATH OF JESUS

What better model is there for a passionate person than Jesus? This man- skin and bones, blood and tears- hung from a crucifix and was mocked and betrayed for sinners like me. He willingly put his life on the line because he believed in a gracious God who sent him to die for us.

See, passion is almost unfathomable. It is the emotion that leads to extreme acts. Real passion, like real love, is done out of compassion.

So I revisited the question that stumped me and reworded it for a better prompt.

What do I care about so much that I would devote my life to it?

The answer? Simply- Jesus.

But I am also passionate about social justice and equality. And you know, I think that’s a good mix because isn’t that exactly what we’ve been taught?

Mark 12:31, Deuteronomy 15:11, Galatians 6:2, John 15:12

Yes, I love children and coffee and travel and music, but those things can enhance my life  or my teachings while I spend my time caring for the world like Jesus did.

And what is this blog about? Well… I still don’t know that.

Leave a Reply

