Trust

Trust isn’t something I’m use to. In fact, placing my trust in someone else isn’t something I often do.

I think that’s a common philosophy for our modern society- a lack of trust- and that’s an unhealthy and dismal mindset to have. Without trust we can’t be ourselves and we can’t relax. We are constantly on alert trying to find lies in what others say to protect ourselves.

For a lot of us, including myself, it isn’t that we haven’t tried to trust. We have. Successfully. Maybe it was a lover or a friend or a parent- but once one too many people come and break our trust, we build a concrete wall and deem ourselves completely independent.

I get it. Trusting people is hard and messy. This Earth is broken and we are all flawed. But, unfortunately, we allow this distrust of humans to carry onto God.

A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed..png

 

This morning during church worship, one line from “Build My Life” by Housefires struck my heart…

“And I will put my trust in you alone, oh Lord, and I will not be shaken.”

I began to sing it over and over again while my mind went on questioning itself.

Why, as hard as I try, can I not trust Him with my whole being? Why am I half in and half out? Why, Lord, have I blocked myself from having pure confidence in you?

My heart is still heavy this afternoon as I admit the answer.

I have allowed my experiences with the imperfect people of this Earth affect my relationship with my perfect God.

 

Do not be afraid, He says. You can put your trust in me. Relax, my child.

This lesson isn’t an easy one. It takes time and effort to break down our concrete walls, even for God. But let Him help. It’s easy for Him.

The truth here? We are not independent beings. We are dependent children of an all-wise, all-knowing, all-powerful, gracious, merciful, loving Father and we can’t let our experiences in this temporary world hinder our trust of Him.

2 Replies to “Trust”

Leave a Reply

